Two posts in one day!

Good question from Kenny:

Actually there is a subject that I feel can only be addressed on indeedindeed. It’s been bothering me for quite some time and I feel like the collective readership and our fearless leader on this blog can figure it out.

What’s the deal with the wierd cut-ins on PTI during commercial breaks? Are they supposed to be giving us some sort of insight into the minds of Kornheiser and Wilbon, and occassionally LeBatard? Because it’s not very insightful. Was it a mistake the first time and they thought “hey that was actually kind of funny, let’s just do it on every show.” Either way when it first started it annoyed me. I kept thinking the show was coming back on, but it didn’t. Now i’m used to it, but I still just don’t get it.

There is one thing that makes it worthwile. The one time I watched PTI and Rick Reilly was the co-host, they went through the segment and into commercial. It cut back in and Reilly was sitting there completely questioning the producers about himself “Did that sound good? Do I look ok? etc..” that one made me laugh.

Come on sloan we need your views on this!

I’ve often wondered about this myself.

PTI is the only daily show that I watch on a regular basis, maybe twice a week now (Actually, I probably see the Daily Show once a week.) And even when I do watch it, I watch a DVRed version of it and blow past the commercials like Usain Bolt past so much so many Osbornes.

So my thinking is that maybe it’s a way of getting people to continue watching the commercials instead of changing the channel or fast-forwarding straight through. Or a way of subtly using Kornheiser and Wilbon to endorse the commercial breaks and make it seem more valuable to advertisers.

Occasionally I have stopped in mid-Bolt and hit the play button for the 10 seconds of Wilbon criticizing Kornheiser’s suit or whatever before resuming the fast-forwarding. So maybe it is working.

5 Responses to “Two posts in one day!”

  1. Kenny Says:

    This question did not inspire the dialogue I had hoped. Question, if this is some type of weird test case for generating more viewership of commercials, what happens if it is successful? Will every studio based show start featuring these 10 second cut ins mid commercial break?

    I am already excited to think about the moments of candid brilliance Bill O’Reilly and Sarah Palin will share with the world in 10 second spurts between ads.

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    well, i think it’s going be more the case of every segment of every news and sport show being sponsored by a different corporation. or like how entourage always somehow has all the guys drinking budweiser with the labels facing the camera at all times.

  3. Kenny Says:

    Yea if only marijuana were legal. They could have turtle smoking Marlboro Greens and use the revenue to hire some talent to make the show relevant again.

  4. Matt Says:

    Hey! Vince is making a movie!

    OH! The movie’s off.

    Hey, movie’s on again!

  5. Pat Says:

    The best thing i’ve seen on PTI was they do the 10 second cut in and you can see below the table and wilbon has a suit coat and tie on above the table but mesh shorts rocking underneath. sneaky guy.

Leave a Reply

