Not for the green of heart

I haven’t read Kenny and Pat’s monster comments yet, but here goes Meghan on the Michigan-Notre Dame battle:

Amazing.

I’m on my blackberry now so can’t type much but it was so much fun to be at that game. Understatement of my day.

I had seats in the student section, 22 row – right behind the band. My friend and I quickly gained a high-five group of new friends. It was so loud and enthusiastic in there. I know you could see the maize on tv but I’m sad home viewers didn’t get to hear the volume. I screamed at the top of my lungs on every single defensive play; it was shockingly quiet and incredibly peaceful when we were on offense. Everybody – 110,000plus people – focused. At the start of the 4th quarter I was so nervous and excited I thought I might throw up. Those last two minutes were unbelievable; the student section thought our second to last play was a completed pass. Omg. Then they actually scored. Hugging strangers! Hugging friends! Chanting – singing – didn’t want to leave. Amazing.

Also of note:
1. Sign in student section: “Charlie Weiss caused the great potato famine.”
2. Volume of stadium’s cheers when we found out MSU lost…so loud.
3. I heard that USC played the Victors upon beating OSU. Not sure if that’s true or not. If so, yessss.

Time to drive back to Chicago now. Why do I live in Illinois?

Her photo to remember the Mitten by:

2 Responses to “Not for the green of heart”

  1. broseph Says:

    i never expected ND to have to blow timeouts because of the excessive amount of crowd noise at a michigan game. but the student section was completely on point, there was this one guy who did the seven nation army chant every defensive play. it looked like he was going to keel over in the 4th quarter. the “it’s great…to be…a michigan wolverine” on the way out of the stadium was crazy, so much energy.

    this was a game that we deserved to win, if only because we proved it was possible to be real college football fans and not the fair weather tea sipping dbags that we usually are. and i probably won’t be in the student section again for a game so i feel very fortunate to have been able to be there for that.

  2. Meghan Says:

    sorry MSU friends, that oozes a bit of maize. Beat ND! I like them a lot less than you guys.

Leave a Reply

