He’s right

TNC expresses my thoughts on Borat (and most likely Bruno, haven’t seen it yet) exactly:

I think, I’m one of the few people, in my demographic cohort, who doesn’t get Sacha Baron Cohen. I get why he’s funny. Indeed, I think he’s hilarious. I just don’t think there’s anything particularly deep going on. I know there’s a whole contingent of lefties who enjoy seeing bigots embarrassed and mocked. I’m not really one of them.

I think there’s something bullying in Cohen’s whole shtick–the way he gleefully embarrasses Red Staters but then let’s Pam Anderson in on the joke. I don’t know. It is funny. But I thought Jackass The Movie was funny.

And I thought Jackass was one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen in theaters.

4 Responses to “He’s right”

  1. York Roberts Says:

    I agree. Plus I don’t think Bruno actually looked very funny. I think Bruno is by far the shittiest of his characters and in fact would encourage him to come up with more characters that don’t all rely on the same sort of mookiness.

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    That being said, I appreciate Sacha Baron Cohen’s commitment and I think he’s a really wonderful comedian. He doesn’t give a damn and there’s nothing else out there on mainstream media that’s close to what he’s doing.

  3. Kyley Says:

    My big problem with Bruno is that a big part of the comedy relies on homophobic jokes. Borat, too me, was smarter and the butt of the joke more clearly identified. I admit that I have not see Bruno, but the trailers and publicity I have seen are just a collection of homophobic jokes.

  4. indeedindeed Says:

    How are they homophobic?

Leave a Reply

