They’re coney dogs

Do I love Eugenides (he just needs one name) more for being the best writer of his generation or for being from Detroit? Or is one inextricably linked to the other?

Anyway, I want to reread Middlesex but I’m deep in other books so this great piece about drive-in movies and being young will have to do.

12 Responses to “They’re coney dogs”

  1. Kenny Says:

    I gave “Middlesex” as a birdthday present to my mom last year, basically because it was set in Metro Detroit. She thought it was good. I have also been meaning to read it and haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    Does anybody else find themselves reading two or three books at a time. This is something I do regularly, not usually intentionally. More often what happens is I go up to TC, like I did this weekend, and forget to bring whatever book I am reading with me so I start one up there then bring it back down. Now I have two half finished books sitting in my room, and a third that I started like 4 months ago and didn’t particularly get in to. I used to read so much more, it kind of frustrates me how long it takes me to get through a book these days.

    Also, does anyone else consider every started book a personal challenge that must be finished no matter how painful? there are very few books that I have started and failed to finish, I’m the same way with movies though with a movie by the time you get far enough in to the film to realize you don’t like it you don’t have that much longer to go to finish.

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    i used to be like that, but now i figure that life is too short (and my reading time too limited) to labor through books that aren’t grabbing me or aren’t important to me. also, i try to borrow books from libraries, and the threat of overdue fines usually helps me discern what is worth keeping and what can be thrown back to sea.

  3. zachary Says:

    that was a good article.

    i do not read more then one book at a time. it takes me long enoughwith one book.

    need help, next book to read, i think i got it down to three: the bluest eye, the water is wide, or band of brothers.

  4. Dano Says:

    Nope…never had that problem

  5. indeedindeed Says:

    I preferred Beloved to the Bluest Eye. Haven’t heard of the Water is Wide and haven’t read Band of Brothers, but I’m sure they’re both good.

    You ever read Elmore Leonard? He’s a crime novelist from Detroit, his prose is unbelievably natural. You kind of forget you’re reading. Good summer books when you’re chilling outside or something and don’t want something too heavy (literally and literary-wise).

    Check out The Big Bounce:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Big_Bounce

  6. zachary Says:

    the water is wide is by pat conroy. who is pretty famous. ill have to check out thise elmore chactter. is it fiction or non or bothish?

  7. Kenny Says:

    I read “My Losing Season” by Pat Conroy, which was actually a work of non-fiction. Very good book about sports and how the role they can play in a person’s growth.

  8. zachary Says:

    water is wide is also non fiction. thought the names have been changed. as they say.

  9. indeedindeed Says:

    elmore leonard writes fiction.

  10. Meghan Says:

    Finally had a few minutes to read that. Love him. Need new novel – Now.

  11. zachary Says:

    i saw the movei the big bounce. the novel is better?

  12. indeedindeed Says:

    i didn’t see the movie, i should.

    this new mosley book sounds good too:
    http://slatev.com/player.html?id=24299417001

Leave a Reply

