Get philosophical in the morning

Beautiful post by Roger Ebert about how thinking about death and blogging about religion has challenged his non-belief in God.

12 Responses to “Get philosophical in the morning”

  1. York Roberts Says:

    Nice article. I took the religion quiz he mentioned at the end. I got Universal Unitarian 100%, Liberal Quaker 99% and Reform Jew 98%. Maybe it’s time I find a new church…

  2. Meghan Says:

    1. Liberal Quakers (100%)
    2. Neo-Pagan (96%)
    3. Unitarian Universalism (95%)
    26. Roman Catholic (26%)

    “I refused all labels. It is too easy for others to pin one on me, and believe they understand me. I am still working on understanding myself.” <- I think i’d prefer to stick with that after taking the quiz.

  3. York Roberts Says:

    Yeah, I also had Roman Catholic in the mid-20’s.

  4. zachary Says:

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Secular Humanism (97%)
    3. Liberal Quakers (96%)
    4. Theravada Buddhism (88%)
    5. Neo-Pagan (87%)

    roman catholic was 14%

    i dont even know what those top 3 are. secular humanism???

  5. York Roberts Says:

    are we sure this quiz isn’t actually made by the church of Unitarian Universalism?

    Maybe we should all covert and start a combine…

  6. Meghan Says:

    A friend took me to a Unitarian service a few years ago. It was pretty interesting – very community focused which I liked. On that particular day the church was celebrating spring with “a communion of flowers.” Everyone brought in a flower and put them in vases at the front and then during “communion,” people got in lines (like for Catholic communion) and each picked a new flower to take home. Hmm, seemed like a nice idea but it was a little hard not to relate it to the realm of warm fuzzy/cold prickly children’s story telling. However, I did like a portion of the service that was basically open mic time, and anybody could go up and say something they were happy/sad about etc. A young girl ran up to the mic and said, “I got into college!!” Everybody clapped and it was actually really cool.

  7. York Roberts Says:

    I read the description of Unitarian Universalism on their website and it seems like a really nice place to be. The thing is, it almost seems so nice that I sort of natually was reading it and was like “Well where is the ‘work’ part that nobody wants to do?”

    But I think I may investiage this religion further…

    It just doesn’t seem like a religion based on what I’ve read. More like a support group for agnostics…

  8. zachary Says:

    support group for agnostics. that made me giggle.

  9. Meghan Says:

    Ya I mean they basically emphasize living morally and social justice – which I guess should take some “work.” There was a pendant in the church that had a symbol to recognize each one of the major religions. I think my friend is unusual in that she was raised Unitarian; I think a lot of people join later in life – so l appreciate that they respect individual beliefs and backgrounds. Emerson was a minister.

  10. York Roberts Says:

    I just feel like living morally and promoting social justice are things I already try to do anyway. It doesn’t seem like the work and the trying to force myself to believe in something that I disagree with that goes along with being Catholic (you know, the whole molesting kids, hating women, hating gays thing).

    But I am going to further investigate Unitarian Universalism.

  11. Meghan Says:

    Ha, for sure. What a laundry list. I know what you mean though – it seems as though Unitarianism is just a way to reinforce those behaviors in a group. Sort of like pre-school for life.

  12. Tyler Says:

    religion = borrowed myths

    I actually want to have a discussion with someone who knows a lot about religion one of these days…like in the old testament doesnt it say the earth is 6000 years old? How could anyone actually believe something like that? I think religion is a story people started a long time ago that would influence people to live a certain way. And those stories have been drilled into peoples minds for 2000 years.

    Maybe I would think differently if I went to a catholic school instead of SB but who knows….

Leave a Reply

