Don’t stop reconceiving

Pat:

There’s definitely some truth to the fact that i’m biased against lazy players. I really loved ben wallace when he was on the pistons because he got the most out of the talent he had. Guys who have all the talent in their pinkie but really love donuts and have poor self control make me nervous.

Understandable. At his dominating peaks, I enjoyed watching Sheed as much as I’ve enjoyed watching any basketball player. But at his not-giving-a-rat’s-ass valleys, he made me want to defenestrate myself.

More:

I just think its funny that you as well as people in the media still talk about the what if the pistons had melo conversation when the fact is that if we hadn’t drafted darko we certainly would have drafted bosh. Those words came straight from Joe D. Pine for Bosh being that he was the next choice if darko had never existed.

Since when do we have to be so factual with our counterfactuals? Obviously Joe wanted to go big with that pick. I realize that he was totally in love with Tayshaun (and that he was right, and Pat was right, and I was wrong on how good he could be.) And it would definitely be nice to have Bosh on the squad. But I, as a Pistons fan and person who enjoys basketball, watched Melo and thought, wow, there’s an NBA scorer that could step onto the Pistons next year and give us 25 every night. In my counterfactuals, I’m the one making the draft pick, not Joe. Because Joe was taking Darko.

Also, what’s wrong with Tayshaun? He looked miserable against the Cavs, even more miserable than the circumstances of getting stomped should have dictated.

5 Responses to “Don’t stop reconceiving”

  1. York Roberts Says:

    Playing against LeBron Juice-I mean James-makes people miserable.

    All I’m saying is, don’t be surprised when LeBron has nagging and repeated knee injuries in four years…..

    That guy definitely juices. Hard.

  2. Pat Says:

    Tay had some serious back problems at the end of the year that carried into the playoffs. He’s also still a toothpick trying to guard a more talented and physically gifted 30 pound heavier player.

  3. broseph Says:

    what a bold and unsubstantiated claim. you got any proof, because dominating the pistons isn’t gonna win anybody over.

  4. indeedindeed Says:

    It’s amazing how much perception can be colored by something like this, but my friend served Tayshaun as a waiter once in LA and he was a total jerk to her, and now I always think he has a huge attitude problem. But maybe I’m just reading way too much into and it’s just the fact he was on a bad team with a bad back.

  5. York Roberts Says:

    I don’t need any proof. I just feel like his “explosive” quickness coupled with his ever growing skull and ridiculously muscular body is enough for me to believe he’s juicing.

    I’m just ahead of the curve on this viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

