No one cares about the Nielsens

Kenny in the comments on Eastbound & Down and HBO:

Garlington and I watched the first season last night. We both enjoyed it. Doesn’t it seem like HBO shows are almost destined to struggle with ratings in their first season?

I mean HBO has so many shows, running on different nights and at different times that there is no way to watch every series they produce. Maybe it’s just me but I usually don’t start watching until I get some favorable word of mouth feedback.

I also think they should rotate through early seasons more often so that people who missed the shows early seasons can catch up.

Great example of this is me with The Wire. I had heard Jerry, and others, raving about the show for years but I didn’t really want to just pick it up at the start of the third season, and I never got around to renting it so the show was ending before I finally got into it.

The only thing I watch on live TV now is sports. Pardon the Interruption is the only show I watch every(week)day and I bang through it in 15 minutes with the help of the DVR. I don’t even know when shows are actually shown anymore, let alone try to catch them then. I’d also much rather let a show play out and then catch up on DVD in six hours when I should be finishing my novel. HBO seems smart enough to know when a show is good and picking up good word of mouth, so I bet Kenny Powers will be in our lives for quite a while longer.

2 Responses to “No one cares about the Nielsens”

  1. zachary Says:

    all i know is i need some curb.

    east bound and down is very funny though.

  2. broseph Says:

    the reason why the wire survived as long as it did is basic david simon had a flawless track record going into it, and nobody was going to mess with a show that was already being praised as transcending television. and then they had to go after the newsmedia. that pissed off too many people. people liked john from cincinnati (i googled it) just fine. and now it’s gone. hbo kills off a show every cycle. it’s nothing new.

    remember tell me you love me? me either.

Leave a Reply

