You’re not doing anything anyway

So, Adam Carolla got let go from his radio show, and he’s not allowed to charge anything for the new podcast that he’s been doing. And it’s absolutely hilarious. Free and hilarious.

He brings in funny people and then just talks for an hour, and he can say whatever he wants because there’s no sponsor or adman or exec to get yelled at by.

Anyway, in the midst of the comedy, he occasionally makes some good points. For example, how come no one ever pays attention to this part of the Elvis classic “Jailhouse Rock”?

Number forty-seven said to number three:
You’re the cutest jailbird I ever did see.
I sure would be delighted with your company,
Come on and do the jailhouse rock with me.

Uhhh, unless that was a co-ed prison, Elvis was pretty tolerant for a pop singer in 1957.

Carollaradio.com, Carollaradio.com, Carollaradio.com.

7 Responses to “You’re not doing anything anyway”

  1. zachary Says:

    ive always thought that.

    and then later, it says if you cant find a partner use a wooden chair.

    life partner perhaps. elvis, ahead of his time.

    public enemy may have thought he was racist, which i doubt, but he certainly didnt mind dudes in jails dancing with eachother..

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    I’ve never looked into this too deeply, but I always assumed that Chuck D. was referring to the process where black artists would write a song, not make any money because white radio wouldn’t play them, then a white guy would record the music and become Elvis.

    Was Elvis personally a racist? I hadn’t heard that. But, again, I’m not an Elvisologist by any means.

  3. York Roberts Says:

    elvis is probably th emost overrated ‘musician’ of all time.

    pop culture icon? sure. ladies man? you bet.

    BUT WHY THE FUCK DOES SIRIUS/XM GIVE HIM HIS OWN STATION?!?!?

    Its so goddamn arbitrary. Paul McCartney has his own station. As does Bruce Sprngstien. I mean I guess they can have limitless stations or whatever and I love some beatles songs and some springstein songs as much as the next guy but I’ve never thought to myself “You know, I wish there was just an entire station devoted to one artist…that wopuld be awesome”. Seriously, if XM/Sirus wasn’t about to go belly-up I feel like they’d have a station entirely devoted to Jandek by 2021.

  4. indeedindeed Says:

    yeah, satellite is totally dead. because of the internet, where jandek already has 400 stations and people can listen to exactly what they want.

  5. York Roberts Says:

    I like XMU. I hate that it is gonna be gone. because they do play some interesting stuff that’s new to me…all though they also play TV on The Radio 90X a day…..

    Can I give you a list of 10 “important” indie rock bands that just do not excite me in any way at all?:

    1) TV On The Radio (don’t get it)
    2) Animal Collective (shitty MyBloodyValentine covering shitty Neutral milk hotel)
    3) Yeah Yeah Yeahs (shit)
    4) Liars (boring and annoying)
    5) Xiu Xiu (why did anyone ever care about them at all?)
    6) Sonic Youth (BORING AS FUCK)
    7) Everything that douchebag Bradford Cox does (He just blows)
    8) All Wolf Parade side projects. (one band, one mission)
    9) Vampire Weekend (they have some OK songs but are nowhere near as interesting/good as a thousand other bands with less exposure)
    10) Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (why does ANYONE care about this band? I hear they’re breaking up. They’re lead singer sounds like a cat in heat. Fucking stupid).

    I guess that’s more than 10…but indie rock is officially worse than mainstream rock as far as bands needing ‘juice’ to get anywhere at this point…

    …or maybe it jus tis mainstream now…

  6. Kenny Says:

    York is functioning at some zachian levels of angst. And I would probably listen to an all springsteen station, and would mos definitely get down on an all beatles station, at least for a couple hours of a road trip.

    Is satelite radio really in that much trouble? I haven’t been following it all that closely. I know a few people who have it and really like it.

  7. zachary Says:

    elvis is superior. you have no concept of musical taste.

    sprinsgteen meanwhile licks a dogs red rocket.

    except born in the usa. that song jams.

Leave a Reply

