Holy Bruce

Via my brother, an extremely metal, female-vocalled (vocaled? voiced?) cover of Springsteen’s “Born to Run,” the greatest rock and roll song ever written.

5 Responses to “Holy Bruce”

  1. zachary Says:

    how come everytime you say that born to run is the best rock n roll song ever it sends a cringe up and down my spine? this has been happening since 7th grade.

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    because you sold your soul years ago? because you think the best rock and roll was made by foreigners? because you hate freedom?

  3. indeedindeed Says:

    melissa etheridge:

    “It was 1976, and I was living in Lynwood, Kansas. I was probably 12 or 13 years old, dreaming of a way out, of what the world outside must be like and what my place in it would be – and this song came on the radio, and it just completely changed my life. That song was Born to Run, and it was by a guy named Bruce Springsteen. I was like, “Holy cow, my life suddenly makes sense.” The next day, the mailman brought my parents’ copy of Time and Bruce Springsteen was on the cover. I read the article and that same afternoon went out and bought the album, Born To Run. I didn’t come out of my room for what felt like a year. I just listened to it over and over and over. That album, that song, it did for me what it does for everybody: it grabs you like a rock ‘n’ roll song – the pounding, the feeling, the fire – and it lifts you up and sets you free. I lived in the Midwest, and this was a song about getting free from the place you’re at. I completely related to that. That’s what rock ‘n’ roll is all about.”

  4. zachary Says:

    and i always take musical advice from melissa ethridge. song is chumpy.

  5. broseph Says:

    that’s basically what the dude from the gaslight anthem said. springsteen gave him a chance to escape from…new jersey. so he probably understood where bruce was coming from better than most.

    also, i was glad to hear that i wasn’t the only one who learned that sax solo on the guitar. i always thought it reminded me of the theme from tiny toons. haha. no one gets that i’m sure.

Leave a Reply

