Who will lead you?

The Detroit Metro Times sent out questionnaires to all the mayoral candidates. I haven’t read all the responses yet but I’ve already seen some interesting stuff. For example, Pistons legend Dave Bing:

Q: Tell us what one of your favorite movies is, and why it is that you like it so much.

A: Spike Lee’s Malcolm X. It demonstrated how to handle challenges in a non-violent manner.

Did he see an edited version or something? That’s not what I took away from the movie.

Ken Cockrel Jr.’s music choices:

I like too much music to pick a favorite, but if I was stuck on a desert island I’d want an iPod loaded with a generous helping of Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Johnny Cash (especially At Folsom Prison), Patsy Cline, Marvin Gaye, Pink Floyd, the Who, AC/DC, Peter Frampton (specifically Frampton Comes Alive), Foghat, the Clash, Gang of Four, Joy Division, New Order, Black Flag, Public Enemy (Fear of a Black Planet changed my life), Ice Cube, Run DMC, Tupac, DMX, Jay Z, Notorious B.I.G., Moby, the Chemical Brothers, DJ Shadow, the Crystal Method, Lil Jon and the East Side Boyz, Alicia Keyes, Jill Scott, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and last but not least Detroit’s own Dirtbombs. To quote rapper Ice-T (who should probably be on this list too): “I feel sorry for anyone who only listens to one type of music.”

Wow. Joy Division, Lil Jon, BRMC? Foghat?!?! This is my kind of politician. He also lists “Fight Club” as his favorite movie.

One Response to “Who will lead you?”

  1. yorkroberts Says:

    That Crockel offers change I can believe in.

Leave a Reply

