Talent has no color

Bomani Jones spies white prejudice against Bubba Sparxxx:

Actually, it would be Bubba Sparxxx tonight. Bubba’s the oddest of cases. You’d think white folks would love another white rapper, right? Not this one, jack. All the people I know that hate Bubba are white. Yet they like the Black-Eyed Peas. I swear, I’ll never understand this race shit.

I’ll admit to being both white and having an unhealthy fascination to this pre-Fergie BEP single:

But I don’t know anybody (black or white) who even cares enough about Bubba Sparxxx to hate him. I remember vaguely that Sparxxx was viewed as Timbaland’s pale answer to Dre’s huge find in Eminem. Was it tokenism? I don’t know. Bubba’s singles were okay but never interesting enough to make me want to cop anything.

However, I have found that my black male friends are a lot more likely than my white male friends to openly appreciate the musical stylings of Justin Timberlake.

2 Responses to “Talent has no color”

  1. zachary Says:

    love some jtlake,

    i dont like bubba cause hes not good. i dont care if he was rainbow colored. he just stinks.

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    i think i’m going to give his stuff another try. BO(MANI) KNOWS MUSIC.

Leave a Reply

