That’s what I’m saying

Dana Stevens of Slate on Doubt:

Doubt (Miramax Films) has a flaw that movie critics will fall on like crazed Swedish vampires and most audiences won’t care about at all: It’s a filmed play that feels like exactly that.

I’m no critic, but that’s exactly my problem with Doubt and Frost/Nixon. I’m sure I’ll enjoy both movies in the comfort of my home, but I don’t get to the movie theater as often as I’d like, so when I do get there, I want to see a movie. Not a lightly adapted play. Though I enjoy a good play as much as the next guy.

Last night, I saw Slumdog Millionaire, which was a really enjoyable movie. Great score, great colors, engaging and cinematic plot. A movie!

6 Responses to “That’s what I’m saying”

  1. indeedindeed Says:

    she also reviews gran torino in that article if you follow the above link.

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    also, what’s with this new phenomenon where instead of showing the trailer on tv they have the actors talking about the movie? is it because the movie trailer voice guy died? train someone! we need trailers!

  3. zachary Says:

    is “fall on like crazed sweedish vampires” a good or bad thing? what the hell does that even mean?

    ebert gave both frost/nixon and doubt four stars.

  4. indeedindeed Says:

    if you go to her original review, that was actually a link to this movie:
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1139797/

    also, i’m sure both movies are good, but because they’re so theatrical i feel like i just don’t need to see them in theaters. i’d rather seen more cinematic movies in the cinema. just like i’d rather see plays in the playhouse.

  5. indeedindeed Says:

    if i had more money and time, i’d go see everything at the theater/cinema.

  6. matt Says:

    what’d she say about that movie, i heard it was good.

Leave a Reply

