Seriously, the year’s over already?

The NY Times’ Notable Books of 2008. And I’ve read one of the novels.

7 Responses to “Seriously, the year’s over already?”

  1. zachary Says:

    i read that list like i would have acutally read one of the books. so you got me tehre jerro

    but this one is of interest…

    In this enthralling novel, a boy goes underground with a defiant hippie indulging her maternal urge.

    change some words around and we got a great skin flick! when im right im right!

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    wow.

  3. PenaltyBOXXX Says:

    I don’t really see the appeal in reading anything “new” that is hardcover.

    I hate hardcover…

    How the fuck can I read that standing up on the train? Can’t be done.

    fuck hardcover.

  4. PenaltyBOXXX Says:

    Also, Tobias Wolf’s collection of stories has a few new stories and is mostly his old shit that is awesome.

    Calling that “new and notable” though would be the equivalent of Pitchforkmedia saying that Nirvana greatest hits collection with 2 new songs on it was a new and notable record rom 2002.

    I call shenanigans on that.

  5. indeedindeed Says:

    my point in the post was that the whole year has gone by and i’ve only read one of the novels. i love hard cover fiction, when i can get it from the library for free. paperbacks are too fragile.

  6. PenaltyBOXXX Says:

    Maybe you’ve only read one of those novels, but I’m willing to bet you’ve read more than 1 novel.

    I don’t think the timing of when anyone reads a book is an indicator of anything.

    I just finished “The Brief and Wonderous Life Of Oscar Wao” last week. I don’t think it’s any more important that it is “NOW” than it would be if I read it last year when it came out or twenty years from now.

    Great book by the way.

  7. indeedindeed Says:

    yeah, but now you can go meet the guy and harass his awesomeness at MIT.

Leave a Reply

