Grandy will get better

Why do I insist on shortening the name of every Tiger?

TT: In the past, you have indicated that you take pride in your defense and that you have worked hard on that part of your game. Are you happy with the progress you have made in that area?

CG: This past year’s defense, I actually took a step back, so I wasn’t happy with my play in the 2008 season. I felt that being out with the broken finger and not be able to run while injured put me a step behind once I returned to the lineup and I never fully got back to where I wanted to be. So this 2009 season, I must get myself two steps ahead of where I want to be, and get back to playing the defense that I want to play.

MORE.

5 Responses to “Grandy will get better”

  1. Pat Says:

    Not so fast…

    “I felt that being out with the broken finger and not be able to run while injured put me a step behind”

    Does that make any sense? I’m pretty sure the human body is more than capable of running all over the place with a broken finger…

  2. indeedindeed Says:

    maybe the only running he does is those lightning sprints where you touch the ground? that excuse does have a vaguely dobrickian feeling about it.

  3. Kenny Says:

    Yea i didn’t get that either. There was some discussion that it affected his “running game” i.e. the ability to steal bases, because of concerns about sliding, but I don’t get how it affected his ability to run.

    Was it on his throwing or catching hand? Maybe he could run but couldn’t actually field balls because he couldn’t catch. That would make a little bit more sense if he had said “I didn’t get a chance to practice running down balls because my finger made it impossible to catch them”

  4. indeedindeed Says:

    That would make more sense, but, no, it was his throwing. Maybe the Tigers couldn’t afford a kid to throw the balls back to the coach hitting pop-ups.

  5. Kenny Says:

    I mean that sentence makes sense if I say it. A finger injury might seem unrelated to running, but you never know when a fall could occur and you could reinjure the finger. I would think Grandy could run down balls without worrying about inadvertently falling and reinjuring his finger.

    But aside from nitpicking that particular sentence. I really like the way Granderson seems to approach the game. It’s one thing to say all the right things, but he really did make improvements in the two areas that people said he needed to improve after his first full season. Fewer strikeouts (although he still had too many), and better performance against lefties. I’ve said that regardless of what happens this year and in the next couple, having two hitters like Granderson and Miggy to build around is a nice starting point, even when Maggs, Guillen, Polanco start to decline with age.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

